|It’s okay

I am not a perfect parent. Sometimes I don’t think you could even call what I’m doing parenting. My children are wild, my house is a mess, I lose my temper and patience too often.

There are many times when my toddler is pushing my buttons – refusing to nap, throwing tantrums, being obstinate or disagreeable. I WANT to get angry and scream and yell and discipline. But anger, frustration, that’s my stuff. She’s not acting this way to make me feel those emotions – those are my emotions and I can choose to have them and act on them. My child is just that, a child. And she’ll act like one. And that’s OKAY. I’m the parent, and I need to act like one. Even if sometimes I’m not perfect. And that’s okay.

One comment on “|It’s okay

  1. Amy Baconeater says:

    Hey, can you go back in time 30 years and tell my mom that? Seriously, though, you’re a great mom & friend, & I love spending time with you! Xoxo

Leave a comment